10 comments on “When is the Government Coming? The Aftermath of Sandy.

  1. Reblogged this on Welcome to Hakes' Virtual Cafe and commented:
    Winner or better said Loser for most shocking post about Sandy. Wow. Sad but all have their right to their own opinion. BTW, most of the people who are asking for help were not warned and the death toll is now above 90. Even sadder is that most Americans are just like this–unempathetic. True that we have the right to voice our opinions. We have the right to allow others to die because we think they behave in ways that annoys us. So, with this said, I have my right to state that I would love to see the tables turned. Sorry, but I really do want to see the tables turned, knowing the Universe is indifferent. And, with that said, since the Universe is indifferent, should we not be also? Something truly to ponder and wonder about. Who’s right and who’s wrong? Does it matter? But, I tell ya’, whether you prepare, evacuate or whatever, all in America will have their day of reckoning. Bet ya’…so go ahead, indepedent and prepared ones, turn thy cheek and curse those who need you.

    Like

    • It makes me laugh. I have been in the middle of a disaster, guess what I was prepared. I had food stored, I had water, I made sure there was protection for my family and myself. I have participated in humanitarian relief, I have brought supplies, have handed out food and water. It is not that I have no empathy or do not care what happens. I am upset that these people, would not prepare themselves with adequate warning and then would complain the government wasn’t there immediately to take care of them.

      Like

      • You are fortunate to have the available resources to prepare. Many of the people who are complaining are poor. They have no way to prepare before disaster due to this. I state this because I am one of those people who was unable to purchase preparation supplies before Andrew hit here in South Florida because at that time, I could not. I was unemployed, single mom of two. I depended on the charity of others at that time. I wanted to heed the warnings and prepare, but I could not. I did not even have a car. All this was due to my divorce. Sometimes, we must look at everything before judging although I understand we all have the right to say and do as we please. Or, do we?

        Like

      • Preparation supplies aren’t something you purchase in bulk all at once. Prep supplies are something you build up, like a savings account. But then again, most Americans have less than $500 saved for a rainy day. I understand what it is like to be at the bottom of the economic spectrum. I have been there. I also know what it means to pull yourself up by the bootstraps and fix your life. In order to be prepared you have to build up a cache, if you will, that is sufficient to get you through a time.

        Like

      • It too a long time to fix my life–to build that cache. In the process, Andrew struck. I will justify no more. All I know is that I met people like you then.

        Like

      • People like me….interesting. Well, I guess I apologize for expecting people to exercise some modicum of personal responsibility. No, no I don’t. I meet to many takers and too many fakers to be all bummed out and down on myself for saying what I believe and telling others that the government is not there to be their personal nanny, piggy bank, nurse, and savior. Too bad there are so many people unwilling to even attempt to help themselves. There was a time when American Exceptionalism was the normal, taking a handout was something to be ashamed of, and the worth of a man was based on his actions, not his words. But I guess we have gotten too touchy feely, and pc for anything of substance to matter anymore.

        Like

      • “People like you” simply means “people with your opinion.” Before we can jump to “American Exceptionalism,” which btw is in the far off distance, we must teach the citizens to fish as they have been indoctrinated not to. Let us look at the premise of the problem before we judge those who don’t know how or don’t know better. To brush them off as lazy or anything else is, in my opinion, genocide as it is as though you wish these people to banish because they are ingorant fools. Perhaps. I was one too until I met someone who cared enough to oversee my indoctrination into foolishness, raised me above it by teaching me to fish, first and foremost. That is all I’m saying. You may jump to your own conclusions. I believe in charity; I believe many have been indoctroninated into what is, and I believe those who, as you say, want “handouts,” should be re-indoctrinated into truth; they should be taught how to fish. I cannot cast judgement, especially when I was cursed at and judged as one who desires to live on freebies and handouts long ago while I had a six month old and a two year old clutching onto me. I felt like killing myself and my children because of that person who thought I was less than he. Instead of helping me, he spit at me in the face and told me that “I was the reason why America was the way it was.” He did not know my story – that just years before I had lived a very wealthy and stable life. That at the moment he had met me, I was going through hell and needed empathy and support. I received nothing but spit in my face. I cannot get touchy feely–I’m numb. That is all I am at this point in my life–numb. Numb to insensitivity. Teach them to fish–Lao Tzu. But, again, I emphasize, I judge not and I believe all should have their opinion. Best wishes.

        Like

      • BTW, I was about 28 years old when it happened to me. I’m now 50. Been there and done that–seen too much. I prefer no government. I prefer we go back to the dark ages and everyone for their own. But, as you can see, very extreme. If it were up to me, oh…you dont want to hear it. And, believe me, I know their are many fakes. But, I also know there are many honorable people. We can go on with words back and forth. In the end, that is all it is–words. This I send towards you: 13th hour activation. May you learn a lot.

        Like

      • Please do not gather that I disrespect you or your opinion. I respect you and your opinion. This is not a believe, it is a fact. We learn from one another only if we set aside differences and emotions. I embrace you and your opinion.

        Like

      • Preparation supplies aren’t something you purchase in bulk all at once. Prep supplies are something you build up, like a savings account. But then again, most Americans have less than $500 saved for a rainy day. I understand what it is like to be at the bottom of the economic spectrum. I have been there. I also know what it means to pull yourself up by the bootstraps and fix your life. In order to be prepared you have to build up a cache, if you will, that is sufficient to get you through a time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

